Happenings – 2012 Oct 13

I’m going to keep this real short this morning.

Today is “family day” at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and I’m going to visit the lab with a group of friends. I won’t get much, if any, math done today.

Nevertheless, I have gotten some math done this week, so I should have a post for this coming Monday. In fact, I’ve done some work on both control theory and on number theory functions… but I think the control theory is closer to publication.

Let’s see. An asteroid missed us yesterday, as it was supposed to. (Did they have the orbit right? I don’t know.)

The defense’s closing arguments in the Italian seismology trial did not encourage me. Apparently they said, “No one actually believed the assurance that there would be no earthquake.” I think that statement flies in the face of evidence. It also seems that there is no record of what was actually said by the man who made the statements. The verdict should be back by Oct 23rd, they say.

And with that, I’m off to meet some friends.

Leave a comment