Happenings – 2013 Mar 16

Okay. I’m down to one course; three of the four are finished. And I’m thinking about dropping the last one. Digital Signal Processing is an order of magnitude harder than any other MOOC (Massive Online Open Course) I’ve taken. Still, I ought to at least see where it all goes, and then drop it at the end.

I’m not working very hard at getting my tax stuff to my tax man, and I really need to get my act together on that, too. OTOH, “Warhorse” was a good movie to watch last night.

Back to the courses…. The image processing was a spectacular overview, and I really ought to do some coding for it – I have what looks like the perfect book The controls course was a marvelous insight into real control theory: we got a quick intro to PID and state space, and then focused on switching between different control strategies (go-to-goal, obstacle-avoidance, and follow-wall). I was impressed by how much controlling they did with so little theoretical machinery. I haven’t decided what I’ll do to follow up on all that. Maybe I’ll just keep on with what I (was) doing.

We’ll see whether I actually get a technical post done for this Monday….

Leave a Reply

