Happenings – 2012 Sep 1

The past week has been another distracting one.

I’ve had Mathematica running on my new desktop Mac since Monday. Oh, one problem with the new Macs is that the latest keyboards no longer have a separate enter key; enter is now shift–return. This makes it difficult to use shift–enter to get the next Mathematica command.

I have no idea what other people are doing, but I simply bought an extended keyboard… it has a numeric keypad, and most importantly, an enter key, on the far right.

After you tell the Apple salesperson that you want an extended keyboard instead of the default, do not let him talk you into buying a keypad instead. The keypad is a separate input device, and does not have a shift key of its own – and hitting shift on the keyboard and enter on the keypad does not effect the shift–enter combination.

I think I have only one potential post for this Monday… the mythical one – you’ve only heard about it, never seen it – about computing the final tableau of a linear programming problem.

I’ve got a few ideas for my next major project… it could be control theory or time series analysis or dynamical systems. We’ll see. In the meantime, I’ll probably continue putting out posts on isolated subjects.

The blog has had more than 6000 hits in 6 of the last 7 months – June was the exception. I was surprised, and pleased, that the summer months picked back up again after school ended. Total hits since inception at the end of 2007 are just over 194,000 – so it might well break 200,000 by the end of September.

(I can’t believe I’ve been doing this for almost 5 years.)

Amusing spam continues to come in.

Simply, one of the best article l have come across on this precious subject. I quite agree with your suppositions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates.

I might very well have approved that, vague as it is – except that it was posted as a comment to the bibliographies page! Ding – thanks for playing.

I seem to be taking a break from mathematics. Last Saturday, I watched the Little League US championship game – one of the teams, Petaluma, comes from just north of San Francisco. That game, as you may or may not know, saw Petaluma come from 5–15 down, starting from the bottom of the 6th inning, to tie the game. That they lost in the 7th inning does not diminish that awesome comeback. And their home town is throwing a parade for them today.

As for me, today, instead of doing mathematics, I’m going to go to the Highland Games being held one town over.

And in the meantime, I’ve been rereading Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera – pure escapist fantasy. He’s probably better known as the author of the Dresden files, which is modern urban fantasy… Harry Dresden is a wizard in Chicago. The next book in the series comes out late in November… I might pre-order it from Amazon… or will I get it sooner by walking into Barnes & Noble? Will they let me pre-order it, so I’d be guaranteed to get a copy?

Oh, for some time now WordPress has been displaying blogs that might be of interest after I log out from my own. For one day last week, blogs about mathematics was one offering.

Unfortunately, my blog was not included. They selected them based on the keyword “math” – instead of on the keyword “mathematics”. Ding, ding – thanks for playing.

Leave a Reply

