Happenings – 2012 Aug 25

In some respects, life continues to move slowly, as it has for the past few weeks.

I’ve been focused on Heaviside’s operational calculus for differential equations. For some reason, I failed to find this material in the book I bought for the purpose… but I found it on a 2nd look, and it has been just delightful. I expect that Monday’s post will be the promised follow-up on differential equations. It’s been fun, and has given me at least one new insight.

On the other hand, my trusty laptop is beginning to fail. So far, I’ve been able to work around the problem, but at the very least I need to try to have it repaired. But that would leave me unable to do Mathematica!

And I’ve been thinking about buying a desktop… I’ve been lusting after a 27″ display.

Now I own one.

I have to say that it’s great for putting out posts: the “edit post” window is on my left, and the “preview” is on my right, and it is _so_ nice to see both at once.

Unfortunately, the latest Mac OS X breaks 2 major programs: Rosetta Stone and Dragon Dictate. I am strongly considering erasing the operating system and installing Snow Leopard, that is, OS X 10.6 instead of 10.8.

Oh, and I need new activation codes to run Mathematica on the new machine. Maybe I should wait until I decide if I’m going to change the operating system.

In other words, in some respects my life is moving far faster than I want it to.

And with that, let me get going today – on the old failing machine where Mathematica lives for now.

Leave a Reply

