Happenings – 2011 Jun 25

My schedule has been topsy-turvy recently. It’s 3:30 PM and I’m just beginning to draft this week’s diary post.



And, much as I would like to put out a technical post this Monday, I’m not sure it will happen. I have learned that when I have trouble putting out a post… when I just can’t bring myself to write it up… something about it is troubling me.

In this case, I can’t seem to bring myself to write up multicollinearity for the standardized Hald data. Nor for the centered Hald data.

As for color, I’d like to discuss CIELab… and maybe that is the next post that should go out. Furthermore, I have discovered that my monitor profile has changed significantly. Fortunately, I had moved a copy of it into a directory not affected by the software update. That is, I can see the changes from the old to the new profile.

That was good… it explains why I suddenly could not replicate the XYZ measurements in my monitor posts. That was a bit unnerving.

As a result – and because the nonlinear part of the profile is quite different – and because I need the mathematical transformations between RGB and XYZ to make use of CIELab – I should show you the new profile.

I’ve been keeping my eyes open for computer flashcards. I have found a promising application – and it’s available for Mac OS X, Windows, Linux, and UNIX. I’ve only just begun to play with it, but it says that it can accept images, audio, video, and LaTeX – and I needed something that was not limited to text.

It’s called Anki, and here is its home page.

Oh, my earthquake forecasts are still on track. Between last Saturday and yesterday, inclusive, there were 32 earthquakes of magnitude 5 or greater… including a 7.4 yesterday in or near the Aleutian Islands. If I recall correctly, that’s the only magnitude 7 quake so far in June. The picture at the beginning of this post shows the location.

As of 5 min. ago, there had only been one magnitude 5 quake today… but I just received notification of a second one.

I haven’t decided what my earthquake prediction for July will be… oh, let me go out on a limb and predict that there will be at least 4 earthquakes in July of magnitude at least 6.

Leave a Reply

