Books added – 4 May

The following books have been added to the bibliography.

Three are about regression, also called ordinary least squares. Johnston is my own reference for obscure special cases; I don’t know what the latest edition is like. Draper & Smith is “the” book for regression in general. I really like Ramanathan for applications to econometrics.

Two are about the control of aircraft. Bryson himself is a significant researcher in control theory, but the book is a bit terse, and at a graduate level. I think I own all his books; if not, I will. Blakelock is an upper-division / beginning graduate text. Where Bryson is predominantly state space, Blakelock is predominantly classical.

Kuipers’ book about quaternions includes “the aerospace (rotation) sequence”, which is the coordinate transformation from earth axes to aircraft axes. It’s also an excellent introduction to using quaternions for rotations.

While I’m at it, I added Goldstein. This is the 2nd edition of an ancient classic. I own the 1st edition, but I prefer the treatment of rotations in the 2nd.

There are two books about manifolds, Lee and Firby & Gardiner. I looked thru them after I finished chapter 2 of Bloch.

Make that three books about manifolds; if I add anything, I should add Thurston. He is a Fields medallist, and he was trying to write an accessible book about his own specialty. I think he succeeded, although it’s presumptuous of me to say so.

There are three references for quantum mechanics, Bohm, Messiah, and Schiff. I have some unfinished business with angular momentum, and they discuss it.

Blakelock, John H.;Automatic Control of Aircraft and Missiles. Wiley-Interscience, 1991 (2nd ed.).
ISBN 978 0 471 50651 5.
[controls, mostly classical but not all; 4 May 2008]
This looks like it’s right at my level: I know the tools, but I’d be happy to follow someone through the analysis of a comlex system.

Bohm, David. Quantum Theory. Dover, 1989.
ISBN 0 486 65969 0.
[quantum mechanics; 4 May 2008]
The story is that Bohm set out to write a text which would demolish “hidden variable” theories, and ended up their strongest supporter. I bought it because he was the author.

Bryson, Arthur E., Jr.; Contol of Spacecraft and Aircraft. Princeton University, 1994.
ISBN 0 691 08782 2.
[controls, mostly modern and continuous; 4 May 2008]
By a master of the field, but i’ll try after Blakelock, which uses mostly classical methods.

Draper, Norman R. and Smith, Harry. Applied Regression Aanalysis. Wiley-Interscience, 1998 (3rd ed).
[regression; 4 May 2008]
This is probably “the” book on general regression analysis; in contrast to “econometrics”, this considers experimental data, and there are some significant differences. In addition, he has a fuller treatment of diagnostics than, say, Ramanathan. There is a data disk.

Firby, Peter A. and Gardiner, Cyril F.;Surface Topology. Horwood Publishing, 2001 (3rd ed.)
ISBN 1 898563 77 2.
[surfaces, geometric topology; 4 May 2008]
In addition to introducing surfaces, it includes maps, graphs, tesselations, and surfaces with boundaries.

Goldstein, Herbert; Classical Mechanics. Addison-Wesley, 1980.
ISBN 0 201 02918 9.
[physics, classical mechanics; 4 May 2008]
There is a 3rd edition (2001). I own the 1st edition, but I am citing the 2nd because i like his expanded treatment of rotations. I have not read the 2nd ediiton anywhere near as throughly as the 1st; I have heard that the 2nd edition may be less accurate than the 3rd.

Johnston, J.; Econometric Methods. McGraw-Hill, 1972 (2nd ed).
[regression, econometrics; 4 May 2008]
There is a 4th edition. This is my reference book. For example, did you know that you could impose a linear constraint on the coefficients and still solve the estimation problem? Well, you can, and he has the solution, among many others. You might check to see if the 4th contains this specific problem.

Kuipers, Jack B. Quaternions and Rotation Sequences. Princeton University, 1999.
ISBN 0 691 05872 5.
[linear algebra, quaternions; 4 May 2008]
The book suffers from a lack of exercises, but it is still a marvelous introducton to rotations, using both linear algebra and quaternions.

Lee, John M.; Introduction to Topological Manifilds. Springer, 2000.
ISBN 0 387 95026 5.
[topological manifolds, geometric topology; 4 May 2008]
“This book is an introduction to manifolds at the beginning graduate level.”

Messiah, Albert. Quantum Mechanics Dover, 1999.
ISBN 0 486 40924 4.
[quantum mechanics; 4 May 2008]
Two volumes bound as one. “Simple enough for students yet sufficiently comprehensive to serve as a reference for working physicists….” I bought it because it was a Dover edition of a well-known book.

Ramanathan, Ramu;Introductory Econometrics with Applications Dryden Press 1995 (3rd ed.)
ISBN 0 03 094922 X.
[regression, econometrics; 4 May 2008]
There is a 4th edition, and there may still be data available for it on the internet. I picked up a used copy because the price was right and discovered that I had a well-written book with a lot of examples, and I enjoy running regressions on real data. I recommend this book for econometrics: it’s both fun and informative.

Schiff, Leonard I.; “Quantum Mechanics”. McGraw-Hill, 1968 (3rd ed.).
[quantum mechanics; 4 May 2008]
a graduate text. i probably bought it as the “standard text” although we were using a different text in the class.

Thurston, William P. (and Levy, Silvio); Three-Dimensional Geometry and Topology. Princeton University 1997;
ISBN 0 691 08304 5.
[geometry, 3D manifolds; 4 May 2008]
not just an intro. classification thm. this is a readable book by a fields’ medallist, and this is his field. don’t be confused by the notes available on the internet: this starts gently.

Leave a Reply

